All About Lectins: A review of The Plant Paradox

By  |  11 Comments

Have you ever heard of lectins? These little anti-nutrients in certain foods can wreak havoc on your gut, creating inflammation and an over-reactive immune system. Dr. Stephen Gundry wrote a book all about them called The Plant Paradox: The Hidden Dangers in “Healthy” Foods that Cause Disease and Weight Gain.

Now, I don’t often do book reviews, but I’ve had so many clients reach out to me in a panic about The Plant Paradox that I figured this was worth a read and wanted to share my thoughts with all of you. In this week’s video, I share my thoughts on this book, explain the basics of why and how lectins affect your health, and help you determine if this diet is an appropriate one for you.

Buy the Plant Paradox here.

Do you have more questions about how lectins affect your health and whether this diet is one you should try? Ask them in the comments below.

If you want to test to determine what specifically your body is needing right now to heal rather than rely on a generic protocol, here’s more information on working privately with me.

These little anti-nutrients in certain foods can wreak havoc on your gut, creating inflammation and an over-reactive immune system.Click To Tweet

All About Lectins: A review of The Plant Paradox | eatnakednow.com

 

Think you know food? Take this test and get our 10-Weeks to Eating Naked Guide for FREE!

 



PAID ENDORSEMENT DISCLOSURE: In order for me to support my blogging activities, I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only ever recommend or link to a product I have direct experience with and love!

AMAZON DISCLOSURE: The owner of this website is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon properties including, but not limited to, amazon.com, endless.com, myhabit.com, smallparts.com, or amazonwireless.com.

11 Comments

  1. Cindy

    August 1, 2018 at 9:38 am

    Thank you for that review, very helpful.
    Other books you may want to check out: The Big Fat Surprise, Nina Teicholz, Genius Foods, Max Lugavere, Deep Nutrition, Catherine Shanahan.
    These people were all featured in the Series: The Real Skinny on Fat with Naomi Whittel that was very good.
    Thanks!

    • Margaret Floyd

      August 7, 2018 at 9:33 am

      I know several of those well. Thank you for the recommendations, Cindy!

  2. Liz Morgan

    August 1, 2018 at 1:30 pm

    Thanks Margaret! I really appreciate this discussion. Soooo many more books I would love to see you review!

    • Margaret Floyd

      August 7, 2018 at 9:34 am

      So glad it was helfpul, Liz. Let me know if there are any in particular you’d like me to do. It takes me a bit of time, but I’m happy to dive in.

  3. Alex

    August 6, 2018 at 6:30 am

    I still choose to enjoy grains and legumes and reduce the lectins naturally through soaking, sprouting, cooking, and fermentation. Guess everyone’s belly is different 🙂

    A bonus tip from my traditional cuisine to remove lectins and prevent bloating: when cooking beans, throw away the first water after 30 mins, refill and keep cooking as usual.

    • Margaret Floyd

      August 7, 2018 at 9:35 am

      Alex, those are absolutely valid ways to reduce the impact of lectins on the gut – I agree with you completely and that’s how I’ve always handled it, and even Dr. Gundry would say that once the gut has healed, this is a very good approach. Great tip on the bean water. Thank you! 🙂

      • Alex

        August 18, 2018 at 1:51 pm

        The pleasure is mine! 🙂

  4. Pingback: 5 Ways to Peel a Tomato | eatnakednow.com | Eat Naked Now

  5. doreen

    October 24, 2018 at 8:55 am

    Hello and thanks Margaret for your review (and lots of other helpful info you provide).
    As with AIP, Paleo, Primal, Keto and now Plant Paradox I find that I am at a loss as how to proceed (after six years of trying each of these).
    I’ve known for 10 years that I have a nickel allergy but just recently learned about the foods that are high in nickel content and therefore should not be in my diet. How does one live/eat well without dark leafy greens, salmon and (gasp) dark chocolate – to name but a few of the restricted nickel items?
    Additionally, I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s about eight years ago – after getting treated (unsuccessfully) for eczema (oh, the stories).
    Are there any diets out there when one has this combination of issues?
    Thanks for any info you might have to share.

    • Margaret Floyd

      October 25, 2018 at 1:33 pm

      Hi Doreen, I know it’s so frustrating, confusing and often overwhelming trying to navigate all the different issues. In a case like yours it’s really best to work with a practitioner who can help you navigate these issues and come up with a protocol that is specific to you and what your body is needing. Generic diets have their limitations and in complex situations like this, it’s usually a situation where we take a basic diet as a starting point and then customized based on a variety of factors – your symptoms, testing, etc. I’d recommend looking up a functional nutritionist. This is the kind of work that I do if you’re interested in exploring that, or finding someone who does this kind of investigative work from a nutritional standpoint.

      • doreen walker

        November 5, 2018 at 1:27 pm

        Thanks Margaret. I decided, prior to seeing your reply, to do something my future self would thank me for. I’m in the midst of a lymphatic cleanse. I keep telling myself I chose this route… But, all sarcasm aside, I can feel the garbage leaving my system and know that’s a good thing. Since I suspect this is at least a 3 month process (off and on), I will wait to see what happens with this and a mostly vegan diet, dry brushing, pressure points, oil self massage, herbal tea supplements and EOs. I just have to remember that it took years and multiple injuries to get here so the journey back will not be overnight.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.